2012 Space Camp Hall of Fame – All Aboard

The final two inductees in the 2012 Space Camp Hall of Fame class were announced this morning live on national television.

Marcia Lindstrom, Director of Education at the U.S. Space & Rocket Center,  accompanied by Astronaut Robert “Hoot” Gibson and Al Roker, surprised The Weather Channel’s Stephanie Abrams live on the air with the news that she had been chosen to be inducted into Space Camp Hall of Fame as an outstanding former alumnus of Space Camp.

After Hoot was done with his congratulations, Marcia then pivoted quickly to inform him that he too had been selected for this year’s induction ceremony!

Local members of the Space Camp Hall of Fame were on hand, as were Space Camp staff and counselors to provide support and congratulations to the newly announced inductees.

For your viewing pleasure, the clip is available at The Weather Channel:


The 2012 Space Camp Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony takes place on June 15, 2012 as part of the 30th Anniversary of Space Camp’s celebration weekend.  More details can be found–and tickets can be purchased–at Space Camp’s 30th Anniversary website.  See you there!

2012 Hall of Fame, 2 Announced

The voting process has ended, and Space Camp Hall of Fame inductees cast their votes.

Today, Space Camp informed two members of the 2012 Space Camp Hall of Fame class of their selection.

Informing them both at the same time proved to be an easy task, as they’re both members of the International  Space Station team at the Johnson Space Center in Houston, Texas.

This morning ISS Flight Director Ed Van Cise and ISS Operations Lead Liz Warren were given the good news!

Ed Van Cise NASA Official PhotoLiz Warren in front of Pad 39B

Even more special, later in the day Don Pettit sent his congratulations from the International Space Station!

Have a listen!

Congratulations Ed and Liz!  We’ll see you in June!